Inspiration Corner


  • The first store opened on 2 April 1979 in Aarhus, Denmark, where it is still located. At that time, the company was called JYSK Sengetøjslager, but the name was changed to JYSK in 2001.
  • Today JYSK has more than 2,100 stores in the following 36 countries: Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Poland, The Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, The Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, France, Greenland, The Faroe Islands, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Kosovo, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, Canada, Romania, Great Britain, Slovenia, Macedonia, Croatia, Italy, Spain, Bosnia-Herzegovina, China, Serbia, Armenia and Indonesia.
  • In Germany and Austria the stores are called Dänisches Bettenlager which is an independent company within the JYSK group.
  • The JYSK group is owned personally by entrepreneur Lars Larsen. Group turnover is approximately 2,5 billion euros and growth is stable and controlled.
  • The total number of employees is over 18,500.
  • JYSK's ambition is to be the market leader in everything for the bedroom, bathroom, window, living room and patio.
  • JYSK's value set is based on three words:
  1. Businessman: Service-minded, cost aware, credible, targeted and professional.
  2. Colleague: Helpful, mutual respect, flexible, open, honest, straigh-tforward and positive.
  3. Team spirit: Committed, loyal, cooperative, JYSK ambassador, rights and obligations.
  • At JYSK our customers can buy several products that are lebelled with ethical, social and/or environmental labels such as ’Blomsten’ (the Flower), ’Svanen’ (the Swan), ’FSC’, ’Fairtrade’, 'KRAV' and ’Øko-Tex’. JYSK is one of the world's largest dealers in FSC-certified garden furniture.
  • JYSK, co-founder of 'The Forest Trust' works to secure the world's forests and to help stop climate change. The trust currently has more than 80 members worldwide.
  • JYSK is the main sponsor of the official organisations for athletes with disabilities in Denmark, Norway and Sweden. JYSK Franchise supports the same cause in Canada, Iceland and the Faroe Islands.